Secure Payment
Free UK Shipping on all Sunglasses

How Can We Help You?

What is UV light?

This link will take you to our Eye Health page which will tell you about UV.

Ultraviolet radiation

There are three types of UV radiation:

  • UVA (315-400 Nm) – These are low energy rays that cause ageing, they are deeply penetrating and not blocked by the ozone layer.
  • UVB (280-315 Nm) – These are more powerful rays with the energy to burn. They are partially absorbed by in the atmosphere and the ozone layer but, as this is reduced, they become more damaging.
  • UVC (100-280 Nm) – These are the most damaging rays but they are completely absorbed by the ozone layer and do not reach the earth’s surface.

High energy blue light

Blue light is also a hot topic these days. The wavelength range for blue light is adjacent to UV and broadly falls into two categories with a dividing point at about 435 to 450 Nm.

Wavelengths above 450 Nm are considered important for both seeing the colour blue and also for helping to regulate the circadian rhythm. Shorter wavelength blue light are considered to be high energy and are associated with some types of Macular Degeneration.

The macular is at the the part of our retina that is responsible for our central vision, it has no blue receptors and is designed to be protected by a special filter in our eyes. Most modern diets exclude certain essential ingredients that are required to build and maintain this filter, allowing high energy blue light to reach the macular and damage to occur over time. Make sure you protect yourself by wearing good sunglasses, you know where to look! Sunglasses Collection

Back To All FAQs